The Four Dignities


The Four Dignities


The Four Dignities: The Spiritual Practice of Walking, Standing, Sitting and Lying Down

by Cain Carroll

Offering a fresh perspective on immediate presence and embodied spiritual practice, The Four Dignities shows how the mindful cultivation of four everyday activities – walking, standing, sitting, and lying down – can be used as formal practice to develop greater vitality and spiritual awakening.

It reveals the subtle inner nuances of these four types of traditional meditation, and shows how they can be practiced as an inclusive system.

Readers are given a profound understanding of correct posture, alignment, breathing, and attention, and the author explains the philosophical basis for the practice, and offers a pathway toward realizing profound spiritual and energetic transformation.

The book will be an invaluable resource for students and practitioners of yoga, taiji, qigong, and meditation, spiritual seekers, and anyone interested in Eastern philosophy.


Add To Cart


"In Cain Carroll's The Four Dignities, you will find the answers!"

In China, we have a saying that we commonly apply to our inner cultivation practice: Zhan Zuo Xing Wo Bu Li Zhe Ge, which means never leave from 'This' whenever you are standing, sitting, walking, or reclining. What is 'This' and how do we stay with 'This'? In Cain Carroll's The Four Dignities, you will find the answers!"

 Master Zhongxian Wu, lifelong Daoist practitioner and author of 12 books (5 in Chinese) on Chinese wisdom tradition. 

"This is a great book"

"The four dignities form the basis of all Eastern wisdom traditions and this book provides a comprehensive overview of the nature of sitting, standing, walking and lying down in the internal arts. As well as this are a host of other useful sections on the nature of mind/consciousness and the path of internal cultivation. This is a great book for those engaged in any form of spiritual training."

 Damo Mitchell, author of Daoist Nei Gong: The Philosophical Art of Change and Heavenly Streams

"A wonderful collection of wisdom"

“Cain Carroll has produced a must-have book that is essential reading for any self-respecting person on the path of self-cultivation. A wonderful collection of wisdom from diverse traditions that serves to illuminate the simple universal truths at their heart. This book needs to be with you standing, walking, sitting or lying down.”

— Gordon Faulkner, Principal Instructor, Chanquanshu School of Daoist Arts and author of Managing Stress with Qigong